The Arts Foundation (TAF), Athens.

Curated by E. Ledaki


The Arts Foundation (TAF) Αθήνα   

επιμέλεια: Ε. Λεδάκη



The exhibition Utopraxia refers to the moment when a seemingly unrealizable intension becomes real. In a minimum amount of time there is a radical -renewing and violent together- perceptive and cognitive expansion. The revelation of the multiple inconspicuous possibilities inherent in any standstill is magnificent. Its magnificence lies at the sudden transition occurring when the temporary character of all previous conventions is raised, revealing new extensions of freedom. At those moments, the non-place of utopia slippers to implementation, letting definitions that have been attributed to utopia hovering in mid-air. Linguistically imprecise neologism utopraxia serves in the present endeavour the need to manifest the nature of the concept of utopia. The abusive superimposition of utopia therefore discounts a non-realistic principal. An issue of paradox raises: under what circumstances does an idea, which is introducing a new mode of management, fall -in advance- within the unrealizable? The sentence of the unrealizable change contains an inherent contradiction in terms. Ideas are obliterated in the process of their own making when classified in the category of the utopian. According to what criteria are yet some positions indicated as utopian at the same time that other are identified as feasible? Is it not the intention of change itself that outlines some ideas as utopian? The term utopraxia attempts to demonstrate the politically dominant content of the concept of utopia. The exhibition shows a series of conceptual artifacts. The artworks present transgressive thoughts and penetrating messages that were visualized in order to be communicated. With the support of Goethe-Institut Athens.


Curated by Evangelia Ledaki

Participating artists: Kostas Bassanos, Vanessa Billy, Martin Creed, Maria Georgoula, Pravdoliub Ivanov, Runo Lagomarsino, Filippo Minelli, Navid Nuur, Miklos Onucsan, Yiannis Papadopoulos, Kostas Sahpazis, Nedko Solakov, Efi Spyrou, Theodoros Zafeiropoulos